press to zoom

press to zoom
1/2

press to zoom

press to zoom

press to zoom
1/3

A limited edition of 100 copies is accompanied by a 17 x 24 cm riso print numbered and signed

WADI3.jpg

Wadi Qelt, in the clarity of the stones

Ilanit Illouz

Text by Émilie  Noteris

First edition

20 x 28.5 cm

Hard cover

156 pages 

112 images

French - English

July 2021

ISBN: 978-2-490740-05-5

Standard Edition: 36 €

Special Edition: 80 €

Ilanit Illouz looks to the ground like an archaeologist in order to examine the properties and the stigmata of places marked by history. This is what makes up the phusis or natural physics which becomes the artist's research base.  The four elements water, earth, fire and air and the exhaustion of themselves guide the artistic project.The visible or invisible trace becomes the narrative thread of Ilanit Illouz's work.

"I have invested an area on the edge of Israel and the West Bank, the Dead Sea constituting a natural border between three countries (Palestine, Israel, Jordan). Two countries overexploit this place when another lives there without having the right to exploit its natural resources. This results in the creation of "sinkholes", holes that open up in the ground as the Dead Sea recedes. This aquatic basin, whose altitude is the lowest in the world, is inexorably drying up. The multiplication of craters is one of the most alarming symptoms. As it recedes, the water leaves behind a land riddled with pockets of salt. On contact with fresh water, these can suddenly collapse, swallowing anything on the surface. This territory, fascinating in many ways, becomes a true metaphor for memory and leaves room for reflection without ever having to respond ". Ilanit Illouz

From her trip she brings back photographs and salt from the Dead Sea that she uses to reveal and cover her images in the manner of Niépce with bitumen from Judea as a photosensitive product for heliography.

The book WADI, dans la clarté des pierre brings together the corpus of images produced in the Judean desert and documents this specific and plastic long-term work called Les Dolines (2016-2021).  

Edition of 100 comprising a first edition book with one riso print  (17 x 24 cm, signed and numbered on the bottom). here

 
News
2022

- First  festival Fata Morgana at Jeu de Paume from 22 march to 22 may 2022

2021

Jimei x Arles International Xiamen Photo Festival  from 26 november 2021 au 3rd january 2022.

Ilanit Illouz is the winner  of Public Award of the Louis Roederer Discovery Award 2021 at THE RENCONTRES D’ARLES 2021 .

- Lauréate 2021 du programme Résidences Sur Mesure + de l’Institut français, Ilanit Illouz a effectué une résidence en Italie pour son projet Sel noir.

press to zoom

press to zoom

press to zoom
1/2

press to zoom

press to zoom

press to zoom

press to zoom
1/3

Une édition limitée à 100 exemplaires est accompagnée d’un tirage riso 17 x 24 cm numéroté et signé

WADI3.jpg

Wadi Qelt, dans la clarté des pierres

Ilanit Illouz

Texte d'Émilie Notéris

Première édition

20 x 28,5 cm

Couverture rigide

156 pages 

112 images

French - English

Juillet 2021

ISBN:  978-2-490740-05-5

Edition Standard : 36€

Special Edition : 80€

Ilanit Illouz porte le regard à terre comme une archéologue afin d'y examiner les propriétés et les stigmates des lieux marqués par l’histoire.  C'est ce qui compose la phusis ou la physique naturelle qui devient la base de recherche de l'artiste plasticienne.  Les quatre éléments qui sont l'eau, la terre, le feu et l'air et l'épuisement de ceux-ci guident le projet artistique. La trace visible ou non devient le fil narratif du travail d'Ilanit Illouz.

L’ouvrage Wadi Qelt, dans la clarté des pierre regroupe le corpus d’images réalisées dans le désert du Judée et documente le travail spécifique et plastique au long cours Les Dolines d'Ilanit Illouz (2016-2021).  

"J’ai investi une zone à la lisière d’Israël et de la Cisjordanie la mer Morte constituant une frontière naturelle entre trois pays (Palestine, Israël, Jordanie). Deux pays surexploitent ce lieu quand un autre y vit sans avoir le droit d’en exploiter les ressources naturelles. Cela a pour conséquence la création de « dolines », des trous qui s’ouvrent dans le sol à mesure que la Mer Morte se retire. Ce bassin aquatique, dont l’altitude est la plus basse du globe, s’assèche inexorablement. La multiplication des cratères en est l’un des symptômes les plus alarmants. En reculant, l’eau laisse derrière elle un terrain truffé de poches de sel. Au contact de l’eau douce, celles-ci peuvent s’effondrer brusquement, avalant tout ce qui se trouve à la surface. Ce territoire, fascinant par plusieurs aspects, devient une véritable métaphore de la mémoire et laisse place à la réflexion sans que jamais une réponse ne soit imposée." Ilanit Illouz